Define yoga and its types.


YOGA means union of universal consciousness or spirit with the individual consciousness or soul that is harmonizing system for the development of spirit with body and mind.


1. Yoga makes the body strong and flexible.
2. Yoga improves the functionality of respiratory along with circulatory,digestive and hormonal systems.
3. Yoga helps in stable emotion and helps in the clarity of mind.
4. Yoga helps in all-round fitness,weight loss,stress relief and inner peace.
5. Yoga helps to keep mind stable as we know our mind is constantly involved in activity swinging from the past to the future.



image courtesy

Ashtanga yoga is convey to the world by Sri K.pattabhi(1915-2009). Ashtanga yoga is the combination of Ashta and Anga. “Ashta” means Eight and “Anga” is limbs so it means Eight Limb path.

Eight Limbs of Ashtanga Yoga
1. Yama(principles or moral code)
2. Niyama(personal Disciplines)
3. Asana(Yoga Positions or Yogic Postures)
4. Pranayama(Extension and control of breath)
5. Pratyahara(To increase the power of mind)
6. Dharana(Helps to increase concentration on one particular object)
7. Dhyan(Mediation)
8. Samadhi(Realization f God i.e state of joy and merging individual consciousness to universal consciousness.

There are six different sets under which the postures and stances practiced under this type of yoga that helps in remove impurities from body and increase the heat of body.


Hatha yoga is set of physical exercises designed to align your skin ,muscles and bones.  Hatha yoga helps to open many channels of our body especially it opens spine so that energy can flow freely.


image courtesy

Mantra yoga is practiced through the chanting of mantras. Seventy million mantras exit.
There are two ways mantras are divided
1. Tantric Mantra-These mantra has some restrictions so to practice these mantra we need proper guidance and help of guru.
2. Pouranic Mantra-These are simpler we can learn or practice without any guru.

1. Mantras are signposts to wandering mind.
2. Repetition of mantras completely engages mind.
3. Chanting mantras produces positive sound benefits to both who chants and also to listener.
4. Generate potent divine vibrations.
5. Some people believes that vibration released by mantra can really helps peoples to fulfill their goals.
6. Mantra purifies mind and make direct union with god.

Mantra has some parts
1. Mantra is first disclosed by religious teacher.
2. Mantra has a meter which governs the voice.
3. Each mantra has a bija or seed(power to mantra)
4. Each mantra is inherent with energy or sakthi.
5. Each mantra has a pin or plug.
6. Mantra purifies mind and make direct union with god.


Bhakti yogais completely based on faith and belief. In bhakti Yoga generally person place their belief on some supreme power such as god. In this type of yoga all things are meaningless example food,sex,sleep and ego. Bhakti yoga is the most direct method to feel divine. The biggest benefit of practicing bhakti yoga is that it help to cure mental cure and emotional problems.

Jnana Yoga

Jnana yogais the knowledge of brahman and atman and the realization of their unity. This knowledge is derives by a person thrugh mediation.


image courtesy

Kriya Yoga is an technique for self realization. This type of yoga focused on bodily activities or physical activities. But it does not really help to calm mental tension or issues. This help in maintain physical fitness or even lose weight. Kriya yoga is of 70 type out of only 20 are commonly practiced.


image courtesy

In Sanskrit Swara means sound or musical note. Swara yoga is the science which is about realization of cosmic consciousness(study in the Evolution of human mind),that come from observation,then manipulation or control of the flow of breath in the nostrils.


image courtesy

In sanskrit Kundalini means awareness. Kundalini yogahelps to awakened the latent spiritual energy. It is very useful for emotional balance,mental clarity and stress relief. This is one of the most practiced branches of yoga.


image courtesy

Kripalu yoga is the development of quiet mind using inner focus,medition and breathwork.

There are three stages in Kripalu Yoga

1. Learn the postures in kripalu yoga along with Body limits.
2. Developing awareness in yourself.
3. How to shift from one to another fluidly without changing mental processes or thought.


image courtesy

This type of yoga is practiced by the Sage Patanjali. Raja Yoga consists of consciousness,self-realization,our home of silence and relationship with god.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *